Which Way Wednesday – Beige Book Edition

On June 9th we liked the Beige Book, which confirmed our bottom call.

On July 28th, we did not like the Beige Book and I said to Members in my review of the report: “Housing drives the market and housing and commercial construction are dead.  How can commercial construction come back if we have less employees?  How can housing come back if fewer people qualify for loans and the population doesn’t grow?  How does anyone think that we can address these problems through capitalism (ie. without stimulus)?

We got the GDP report that Friday (July 30th) and the low expectations there gave us the gap up we were expecting and Alan Greenspan went on Meet the Press that weekend and admitted I was right – both stealing my “Tale of Two Economies” economic outlook and blasting the Republicans, saying the party had “lost their way.”

We couldn’t do anything about the Republican’ts but I was able to call a “Toppy Tuesday” on August 3rd and we drifted along that top until the next week, where we caught the action just right as we took our bullish money and ran on Monday and began grabbing downside hedges including the QID play I put up right in that Tuesday’s (8/10) morning post, where I said:

Yesterday we knew that the move up was fake, Fake, FAKE and we acted accordingly in Member Chat.  We had a nice QID cover play right in the Morning Alert that was an easy fill as the Nas went higher and higher all day.  It was the Aug $16/17 bull call spread at .42, and the $16 puts sold for .29 for net .13 on the $1 spread with a nice 669% upside if the Nasdaq heads sharply down on us.  Our stops on the play were a combination of Nas 2,300, Dow 10,700 and Russell 666 and we got the Nasdaq and the Dow over their marks but, once again, 666 proves to be an ominous barrier for the Russell.

That hedge did, of course, return the full 669% as QID finished the expiration period at $17.80 and there was no doubt on the trade as we had a mild drop Tuesday morning, followed by a major drop the next day, where my opening comment was: “Wheeee – I told you this was going to be fun!”  It is FUN when you are prepared to ride the market roller coaster – not so much so when you are not.  It was all about the…

….ahhhhh end of the free article! Uncle Phil doesn’t let me post the entire article for free! Fortunately for you, I’m his nephew and can get you a special discount on his site! Just follow this link:

http://philstockworld.com/membership/signup.php?affiliate_special_signup=1&coupon_or_referrer=jad714

You see that link there? I earn commission for everyone who signs up and YOU get a discount. Want to be on the commission side of that deal? My Uncle has me signed up under the affiliate program and wants more people to do it as well. If you would like to refer people and earn commission, please e-mail me at jad714 at aol.com (******@aol.com). It doesn’t cost you a single penny and all it takes to earn money is to refer people using your personal link.

About jad714

I'm 17 and freshly entering the world of stocks! I'm using my Uncle's website at www.philstockworld.com to get my information. His articles are fascinating!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment